Well friends, ol Prent has been in Texas for one week now and let me tell ya, it ain’t New Hampshire. For those of you who don’t know, me and my boy Sam decided to up and move across the country. A bold decision to be sure, especially when you factor in that I left before Sam, so I have been all by lonesome this far. But it has been quite an experience.

So far I landed an AMAZING job with coworkers that have gone out of their way to make me feel welcome even though I haven’t even started yet, landed an apartment that we are SO excited about, and have gotten to experience things I never would’ve in New Hampshire.

I won’t lie, I really miss my family. I’m not sure that’ll change, but I talk to them more now than I ever have! It has been pretty cool to leave my comfort zone and find out that I have what it takes to make it in this crazy world….at least up to this point. Here are some lessons learned thus far:

  1. WE ARE SO LUCKY TO LIVE HERE: Seriously, this country is phenomenal. There are some sights that I saw on my drive down here that I won’t soon forget. Except Arkansas. That state sucks.
  2. FOR THE MOST PART, PEOPLE ARE REALLY NICE: Obviously every area has it’s bad apples, but when you need some help, most of the time there are people willing to lend a hand.
  3. SPREADING YOUR WINGS IS GRATIFYING: and absolutely terrifying. It’s an incredible feeling to just pack up and head out on a new adventure, but if you’re anything like me you’ll have about 3628 mental breakdowns wondering if you made the right decision.
  4. CHOOSING WHERE TO WORK IS IMPORTANT: I interviewed at 4 different companies in he first two days I was here. I probably could’ve done ok at any of them. But when I interviewed for the position I ended up accepting, I told my manager straight up that I was cancelling all other interviews because I didn’t want to work anywhere else. When I accepted the offer, he invited me to a team building event. We went go karting and then went to dinner as a group. I haven’t even started yet, and these people were already welcoming me in like I’ve been there for years. It’s a great feeling.
  5. FAMILY WILL ALWAYS BE THERE: I’ve never felt closer to my Mom, Dad, and sister than I do now. It’s kind of crazy when you think about it. I move 1700 miles away and we’ve gotten closer. Weird.

I think I’ll end up doing just fine down here. It’s gonna be hot, and it’s a city (I’m not a huge fan of either one) but when you combine the fact that my best friend is almost here and that I’m going to be working with great people, I think we’ll be ok.

–Prent

