Momma Prent just wrote an article basically saying that young people are annoying and disrespectful towards elders. She feels like us young folk seek a respect that isn’t earned. Let me tell you why that’s erroneous.

Momma Prent claims that young people are in a sense demanding respect that they haven’t earned yet. Herein lies the problem; Old people don’t deserve respect just because they’re older. They deserve respect because they are a human being. Just like The youngen deserves the same respect.

She also mentioned that young people think they know more than they do. Well news flash: OLD PEOPLE DO THE SAME THING. We aren’t in 1987 anymore. There is more than one way to skin a cat, and it is sooooo infuriating when someone dismisses you because you are “too young”. I had a guy tell me once that I was too young to know anything about coaching baseball. I beat him 16-2. Take that Gramps.

My point is I don’t respect people who don’t respect me. I will not respect you just because you’re older than me. That’s stupid. I will respect you if you are a decent human being. That’s my criteria. Maybe more people should be like ol Uncle Prent.

–Prent

