The NFL has been a PR nightmare lately, and that is very much affecting TV ratings. But they have messed up this Josh Brown thing from the get go.

For those of you who don’t know, Josh Brown is a kicker (lol) for the Giants. This summer he beat the shit out of his wife. Again. The police, the Giants, and the NFL all knew this wasn’t the first time he had done so. So Roger Goodell and his office full of merry miscreants decided that one game should be plenty. Atta boy Rog.

One game wasn’t enough at the time, and it certainly isn’t enough now. In March of 2014, Josh Brown wrote a letter to some of his friends. Below are some excerpts from it:

  • “I viewed myself as God basically and she was my slave.”
  • “I have physically, mentally, emotionally and verbally been a repulsive man … I have abused my wife.”
  • “I made selfish decisions to use and abuse women starting at the age of 7, I objectified women and never really worried about the pain and hurt I caused them.”
  • “My ability to connect emotionally to other people was zero. My empathy levels were zero. Because I never handled these underlying issues I became an abuser”

Wah, Wah, Wah. Listen, Josh, you don’t get to feel sorry for yourself in this situation. You and you alone are to blame for being a monster. But here’s the thing, the NFL and the Giants should be just as ashamed of themselves.

First of all, Josh admitted to John Mara (Giants owner) that he repeatedly abused his wife. On top of that, Mara knew about and saw the letter! And they (meaning the Giants and the NFL) decided one game was enough? I mean come on.

The NFL has a policy that says first-time offenders will get a six game suspension…but mitigating factors would be considered. So basically guys will only get the 6 games of the NFL feels like it. They have commercials that say “No More” to Domestic Violence (with The Giants QB as one one of the spokesmen) but let this ads clown get away with one game. Can you imagine if a Steeler or a Patriot did this? Rog would’ve sent them straight to Azkaban or something. It’s time for the NFL to grow a pair once and for all.

P.S. Josh you honestly viewed yourself as a God? You’re a kicker bro. That’s the least God-like position in sports. Backup QBs have more clout than you. And to be clear, I’m not saying that anyone should view themselves as a God, but kickers REALLY shouldn’t.

