The Sox just came from behind to beat the Yankees for a GIANT win, so naturally I’m all jacked up. It has me thinking about all the good times in this rivalry that I’ve got to experience in my lifetime. I’ve gone through some bad stuff, but it’s been mostly good. Here are my favorites.

5. Pedro vs Don Zimmer

This was hilarious. This came during the 2003 ALCS (that was ruined thanks to Aaron fuckin Boone of all people) which was all sorts of heated. Pedro and Clemens were both notorious head hunters, and his was no different. Pedro drilled Karim Garcia (hack) and then Clemens threw up and in on Manny Ramirez and all hell broke loose, most notably ol Don Zimmer going right at Pedro. Things didn’t go well for ol Donny boy.

 

4. Back-to-back-to-back-to-back

At the time, Chase Wright was a pretty decent prospect for the Yankees, until the Red Sox killed his spirit. On April 22, 2007, Manny, J.D. Drew, Mike Lowell and Jason Varitek all homered in consecutive at bats which tied an MLB record. Take that Chase.

 

3. Varitek sticks it to A-Rod.

I love this moment so much I used to have a framed picture of it on my wall. A-Rod is a huge douche so anytime he gets punched in the face is a good time. But maybe the best part about this is from a story that Curt Schilling told on periscope. Apparently, when A-Rod was complaining about getting hit, Tek looked at him and said “we don’t hit .250 hitters” and that’s when A-Rod got real pissed. Classic Tek.

 

2. The Bloody Sock

First of all, I LOVE Curt Schilling. He was my favorite pitcher even before he came to Boston. He threw gas and didn’t take any nonsense from anyone. What he did in Game 6 of the 2004 ALCS is the most gutsy performance in any game I have ever seen in any sport. The guy had a major surgery on his ankle like 3 days before he went out and pitched an absolute gem. He needed it too, because before the series opener he delivered this classic line: “I’m not sure of any scenario more enjoyable than making 55,000 people from New York shut up.” Awesome line, but he lost game 1. He really shut them up in Game 6 though.

 

1. The last out of the 2004 ALCS

This is among the happiest moments of my entire 23 years. This was better than Beating the Cardinals or the Rockies. I think the 2013 World Series BARELY beats this moment for me. I will never forget this moment. I was in the living room with my dad and when Pokey Reese fielded the ball and got the out, we yelled and hugged and cried and it was just an awesome moment and an awesome memory. That WAS the World Series for the Sox at that point, beating the Cardinals was just a formality. Winning Game 7 in New York made it even better.

–Prent

