So every week I’m gonna give out some free gambling advice on 5 college football games each week, courtesy of Prentiss Investments. But being that this is opening week, I’m gonna give you my playoff and heisman prediction as well. So, let’s get after it here. 

Week 1 Picks

Just so everyone is aware, all bets are 1 unit (or $100)

UCLA (+3) over Texas A+M–Josh Rosen is legit. A lot of people are picking UCLA to win the Pac 12, and I think A+M is going to have a down year. I like UCLA outright, so I’ll take the points.

North Carolina (+3) over Georgia–Kirby Smart is going to need a few weeks to get his defense clicking in his first year in Athens, and Bug Howard and the fellas are NOT a good offense to start that journey against. Like the first game, I’d take UNC outright. 

Houston (-11.5) over Oklahoma–This line honestly baffles me. The game is in Houston, and Greg Ward Jr is a legitimate beast. Not only do I think Houston will be in it, they might win this thing. Go Cougars.

Clemson (-8) over Auburn–one of two things is going to happen, either Clemson is going to come out of the gate with a vengeance and on all cylinders, OR they are going to start slow and Auburn will be able to hang around. Clemson is much more than 8 points better than Auburn though, so I feel comfortable giving the points.

Alabama (-11.5) over USC–Death, taxes, and Alabama football being loaded. Never bet against Nick Saban. Ever.

Prent’s Playoffs

  1. Alabama
  2. Clemson
  3. Ohio State
  4. Oklahoma

Championship Game: Clemson over Ohio State

Kinda chalk here, but I think These are going to be the conference winners, and I don’t see how you can get the Pac 12 in over these four conferences. I picked the team with the best player to win the whole thing. Watson is a stud.

The only thing that would really through a wrench in here is if Notre Dame somehow ends with one loss. Then they would probably make it. I think UCLA and Michigan are probably the closest on the outside looking in. 

Heisman

  1. Deshaun Watson, Clemson
  2. Christian McCaffery, Stanford
  3. Leonard Fournette, LSU
  4. Brad Kaaya, Miami

Definitely Watson’s to lose. He plays on a team with a great chance to win the whole thing so he’ll be in the spotlight all year. Fournette’s numbers last year were bananas. Guys an animal. Christian McCaffery IS Stanford. They’ll go as far as he lets them. Kaaya is a dark horse for sure, but if Miami gets relevant, he’ll get some Heisman love.

Good luck and Merry Football Season! It’s the most wonderful time of the year! 

–Prent

